How to Delete Your Gmail Account

Do you think you have more Gmail accounts than you need?

Gmail has been around since about a decade and at times you might have created more Gmail accounts than you should.

And you think if you can delete your unused Gmail account.

Yes, you can. But let me come on that point in a minute.

Before that get absolutely clear that you want to delete your Gmail account. You may not need to. You may choose to forward it to your another email address or just ignore it and choose not to log into that account.

In most of the cases you won’t need to “delete” your gmail account but if you still want to, here are the steps:

How to Delete Gmail Account If You Are Using Online Gmail

Step 1: Log in to your Gmail account: You need to sign in to your Gmail account. If you have forgotten your Gmail password, you can recover it by following this link.

Step 2: Go to Google Account Settings -> Data Tools

Step 3: Under Data Tools Section, go to Delete Products

Step 4: Click Remove Gmail Permanently

Additional Steps to Delete Gmail Account If You Are Using Offline Gmail

Step 1: Go to Google Chrome -> Address Bar

Step 2: Type chrome://settings/cookies into your address bar and press Enter.

Step 3: Mouse hover on the search results and click the X that appears

Voila, you just deleted your Gmail account!

If someone sends you an email on the Gmail address you deleted, they will get a mail delivery failure message.

PS: If you think that you deleted a wrong Gmail account and you want to recover it, you may need to contact Google support. Expect to retrieve only username if the deletion has taken place a few weeks ago.